Testimonials

  • Best Choice I made for my loved one!
    / 5 stars

    I looked at many places before choosing Eddy Hawthorne Ridge.  I loved everything about it right from the start.   I would definitely recommend Eddy Hawthorne Ridge!   Can’t say anything but good about the honesty, cleanliness, caring, activities, musical programs and so much more, and food! Best choice I made for my loved one!!

    ~Family satisfaction survey

     

    01/26/2017
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Could always count on the smiles, kindness and gentleness
    5 / 5 stars

    We cannot express our gratitude for all of the care, comfort, companionship and support that you gave to our aunt during her last several years of residence at Marjorie Doyle. We could always count on the smiles, kindness and gentleness even on the most taxing of days.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Dedicated to all of the residents
    5 / 5 stars

    Each time something new happened there was always someone to walk us through, talk to and offer a lot of hugs. Mom and I got to know and appreciate what went on behind the scenes. We learned how dedicated each of you are to all of the residents. They made me feel so good when I went home because I knew her other family was with her and watching over her. There aren’t enough words to express how I feel so I’ll just say thank you to all my special family.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Such great care
    5 / 5 stars

    Thank you for all that you did to watch over our mother. Each of you took such great care … the beautiful grounds, the clean rooms, the fun activities, the good food, the tender care, as well as the unending support and affection … everything helped to keep our mother happy and well. We appreciated all you did for her and for us. We will always think of you as our special stars.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • So grateful for the people who took care of my mom
    5 / 5 stars

    The first time I set foot in Marjorie Doyle, I knew it was where my mother needed to be. In the past 5 years, not a day went by that I was not grateful for the people who took such wonderful care of her. Her surroundings were comfortable, pretty, always spotless, delicious food, and cheery people. It was the next best thing to having her home. I’m not sure if you all realize how much peace and comfort families have, knowing their loved ones are in such good hands.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Made such a difference in our lives!
    5 / 5 stars

    You make such a difference in our mom’s life and in our lives. It is obvious to us that our mom knows she is in good hands and so do we. We really appreciate the staff’s professionalism, dedication and compassion. You have done for all of us what we never could have done for ourselves and we thank you!

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Always among family and friends
    5 / 5 stars

    Our family is at a loss as to how to thank all of you who cared for my Mom. Everyone truly took the time to get to know her and interacted with her in such a caring and friendly way that I think she thought she was always among family and friends. All of you have extraordinary talents and are using them to impact the lives of your Residents and their families. We are all very thankful.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Thoughtfully designed facility
    5 / 5 stars

    It is counter intuitive to think that there is any place better for our mother than her own home and that there is anyone more capable of caring for her than family. If you’re lucky enough to put sentiment aside long enough to give MDRC the opportunity to help, you’ll find a thoughtfully designed facility filled with people, trained and experienced, to make days living with Alzheimer’s filled with a quality you never thought possible.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Everyone is welcoming and location is fantastic
    5 / 5 stars

    I am so glad my sister and I stayed the course with Hawthorne Ridge. It is worth it because all of you are so nice.  When I was there yesterday even the Maintenance people were so welcoming and the location is fantastic for us. We couldn’t ask for much more.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Delightful visit
    5 / 5 stars

    This morning’s visit was a delight because of the way Mom was treated as soon as we walked in the door. Seeing her engaged was awesome. It sounded like she had a good time while we were putting things in the room. It was a breath of fresh air, I know Mom will have a good time and be in good hands

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Transitioned beautifully
    5 / 5 stars

    Through careful review and placement, the expertise of medical staff and the care and compassion of every staff member at every level, my mother transitioned beautifully. She is a resident who feels cared for, secure and safe in a residence that offers a multitude of activities every day, which she can choose to participate in or not. This goes beyond Bingo – although that is certainly an offering, but there are theater trips, lunches and dinners out for many, picnics, and dance and special memory experiences. My mother is well supervised and they know where she is at all times.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Thank you for what you do for us and for our loved ones
    5 / 5 stars

    Our family would like to extend our thanks to your staff for the loving care they provided our mother. It has been very painful to watch Alzheimer’s disease rob mom of her beautiful memories and sap her spirited, humorous and dignified approach to life. Through this relentless decline we were comforted by your staff’s support and care. They have no easy task, but there is none more noble than caring for society’s once loving parents, those who went off to war or conquered the Depression or built careers in industry or educated or cared for us. These heroes have run their race and are now dependent on us. It is your employees that fight day to day, hour to hour, to maintain their health and dignity. Please thank them for what they do for us and for our loved ones. They, too, are heroes in their own right and should be so very proud.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • The best place for my dad
    5 / 5 stars

    Thank you so much for the wonderful care you gave my dad. I knew from the minute I saw Hawthorne Ridge, it was the best place for him. You are all so special – you are angels for taking such good care of the Alzheimer’s residents there. You do it in a loving and caring way. Keep up the great job!

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Staff on all levels goes above and beyond
    5 / 5 stars

    I have never had a need, request or concern that was not immediately addressed. The staff on all levels goes above and beyond to show respect, love and genuine caring for the senior residents. All I can say is “Bravo!” We made the right choice.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • I couldn’t have found a better home
    5 / 5 stars

    You bring love into all you do … I couldn’t have found a better home.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Professional and welcoming at the same time
    5 / 5 stars

    Your facility is exceptional in that it is both professional and welcoming at the same time. Everyone works wonderfully to help the residents feel safe as well as cared for. We are very fortunate to have a facility like yours in our community. Thank you all for what you do.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • The most impressive team of caregivers
    5 / 5 stars

    You are the most impressive team of caregivers I have ever had the privilege of witnessing in action. Your kindness and compassion toward your residents and their family members is the epitome of what we all hope for in the care of the elderly. Your attention to detail, your early recognition and response to subtle symptom changes, and your recognition and respect for the distinct personality, habits and needs of each individual person sets you apart from other assisted care facilities. And the camaraderie you share in maintaining your high standards is evident.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Outstanding hospitality in all aspects of living
    5 / 5 stars

    Thank you to the staff at The Terrace at Hawthorne Ridge for providing my mother with outstanding hospitality in all aspects of living. We always found the staff to be highly skilled, enthusiastic and caring.

    My family and I feel great relief in knowing that our mother is living in such a friendly and comfortable atmosphere.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • You will be placing yourself in the hands of a very competent and compassionate Administrator
    5 / 5 stars

    I am most happy to submit this brief statement concerning my feelings about the Terrace at Glen Eddy in Niskayuna.

    If, after making the difficult decision to leave your homestead, and seek residence, in an Assistance Living Facility, you will do no better than to set your sights on the Terrace at Glen Eddy in Niskayuna. I make this testimonial, based on my last five years in the same apartment at the Terrace. If you should apply and be admitted, you would be placing yourself in the hands of a very competent and compassionate Administrator. New York Health Certification required for most long term insurance policies. A competent Medical Doctor in house two days per week and many other positive features.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • You will never regret it
    5 / 5 stars

    My days at the Terrace at Glen Eddy began on February 2, 2002. There were six of us who moved in that week. Now eleven years later I’m still here and still very contented.

    There are many factors that have made those years very attractive and it’s very difficult to differentiate. However I think I need to start with the Staff. There are some still here that arrived when I did. They have all been very carefully selected, and I am fond of all of them. Programs and activities selected for us are excellent and so is the food.

    As we all age and change, I observe the careful eyes of the Staff on us, ready to help with the next step if necessary. I believe that anyone who decides to spend some senior years at the Terrace at Glen Eddy will never regret it.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Staff goes the extra mile
    5 / 5 stars

    It seems to me that all the staff goes the extra mile in not only doing the job, but doing it with a smile for the residents. A further indication of staff integrity is shown by the daily hospitality extended to the residents’ visitors. Thank you and thanks to the staff for everything every day!

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • It’s good to be home
    5 / 5 stars

    Thank you so much for all you did to make my aunt’s stay here a good one. It was wonderful to see her move from “I don’t like it here” to “It’s good to be home.”

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Outstanding service
    5 / 5 stars

    We would like to inform you of the outstanding service provided to us during the difficult and emotional period … we left The Terrace feeling very confident knowing that my mother would be in the hands of such wonderful and capable people. While an emotional time for all of us, The Terrace at Eddy Memorial made it a very easy transition.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • So many talented, well-trained and dedicated people
    5 / 5 stars

    It is a tribute to The Eddy that so many talented, well-trained and dedicated people are employed and working hard every day to enhance the lives of others!

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Fabulous dinner in the private dining room
    5 / 5 stars

    Many thanks for arranging for us to have dinner with my Dad at The Terrace last Wednesday! We had a fabulous dinner and it was especially nice to be in the private dining room …. it was most pleasant and greatly appreciated. Thanks again!

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • My whole family is pleased
    5 / 5 stars

    I just can’t tell you how pleased my whole family is with having dad at The Terrace. The staff is fantastic. He looks wonderful, loves the food, loves the staff, loves the programs, we couldn’t be happier. This place is the best!

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Excellent, dedicated staff
    5 / 5 stars

    I want, again, to thank you and Melissa for believing in my Mom’s ability to recover, and for doing so much to make her post-rehab return to The Terrace successful. Our mother is a strong woman, but we recognize at age 95, anything can happen at any time. It is gratifying to know The Terrace supports the concept of remaining at the highest level of functioning as long as possible. Nothing can replace continuity of staff, and you have retained excellent, dedicated people at The Terrace.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Thanks again for all your assistance.
    5 / 5 stars

    I have been meaning to call you to thank you for all the support you provided to me and my family while we were trying to get my mom to move into The Terrace. It was enormously helpful and kept me going when it was so difficult and exhausting … my mom has made the transition nicely. I believe she really is happy there and has made some lovely friends. I can rest assured that she is safe, healthy and enjoying this stage of her life.

    I love the staff … they are just tremendous and it is clear this is not just a job for them.

    Thanks again for all your assistance.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • We’ve never been sorry, one bit!
    5 / 5 stars

    We came here two weeks after opening … we loved it then and we still love it! Our children wanted us to go near them and we looked at places near our children but we came back here and liked this best of all. We’ve never been sorry, one bit!

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • The perfect home for me
    5 / 5 stars

    I have found that this is the perfect home for me. I couldn’t be happier. Living here gives me and my children peace of mind. What could be better?

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Not a day that I haven’t been happy
    5 / 5 stars

    There has not been a day that I haven’t been happy. I feel that this is my family; everybody here is someone I can rely on and that’s important. I have friends that are living in their own homes, who have lost their old friends and they have not made new friends because they have no association, no way to associate. Thank you very much!

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Staff of such thoughtful and caring professionals
    5 / 5 stars

    Just a note to thank you for leading a staff of such thoughtful and caring professionals … our family and friends were greatly impressed by what a great place we have to live in.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • So glad to be here
    5 / 5 stars

    You said we’d love this place, and of course we do! The services are wonderful, the food divine, and we are so glad to be here.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Pleased how quickly the residents have become family
    5 / 5 stars

    I have to laugh whenever someone asks how we like living at Glen Eddy. My husband immediately says enthusiastically, “I feel I’ve died and gone to heaven! No snow to shovel, no grass to cut, and a work order gets a house problem solved!”

    I agree, but am also pleased how quickly the residents — all strangers before we moved in — have become family. That is a very comforting source of support as we grow older.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • We love it here
    5 / 5 stars

    When we stepped across our new doorstep eight years ago, we were moving in among many strangers. In a short time, these strangers became very supportive friends.

    We love it here. There is great food, no maintenance worries, snowplowing and lawn mowing are done for you … did we mention the food?

    We like to walk on the campus and because of its park-like setting, it is also a great area to see the many varieties of birds and furry little animals.

    We led a quiet life in our previous home. Since we have been here, it has been a very busy life. There are many chances to keep active from going on trips to attending educational presentations to dabbling in anything from art to cutting edge technology.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • New friendships and an easy-living style
    5 / 5 stars

    My life at Glen Eddy has been marked by new friendships and an easy-living style. The community is welcoming and vibrant. There are fun social events, interesting activities and volunteer opportunities. At the same time, there is quiet as desired in your fully equipped, modern apartment. Really, it is the best of all worlds: companionship yet privacy, plus a beautifully maintained and secure property without the maintenance hassles of a private home.

    My husband and I moved to the Glen Eddy from a large home in Niskayuna. Although we were ready to downsize, we were concerned that it would be hard to adjust to apartment living. We feared feeling cooped in. But we were wrong. Our Glen Eddy apartment has enough private space and the common areas on the property provide lovely gathering spots for planned or impromptu social interactions.

    When my husband died, the support and compassion I received during his illness and after his death from the staff and residents is something I will never forget. The experience reinforced to me that the Glen Eddy is a supportive community where residents care about each other in a respective manner.

    Thank you Glen Eddy – it’s great to call you “Home”!

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • We appreciate all of the outstanding work your staff do
    5 / 5 stars

    We appreciate very much all of the outstanding work that you and your staff do to keep Eddy Hawthorne Ridge in good shape. It is the work of you and your staff that makes this such a great place to live! Keep it up!

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • The people here are like family
    5 / 5 stars

    The people here are all very nice, friendly … like family. It is so much about the people, you don’t feel alone. The staff is good, top to bottom. The first snow storm, we looked out the window and maintenance was cleaning off our car, moving it and plowing … that was nice.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • St. Paddy’s Day at the “Ridge”
    5 / 5 stars

    St. Paddy’s Day at the “Ridge” — what a grand day! From the Irish stories … to the tantalizing aromas from the kitchen leading to the traditional Irish treats! To all who decorated, cooked and served – thanks, thanks, thanks.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Life is so much better
    5 / 5 stars

    During quiet time this morning, I was thinking how quickly I made the decision to move here, lost my dear husband three years ago, on the first day of Lent … had never considered a retirement home, totally unfamiliar to me, but through a friend’s family and mine, I heard there was an opening at Eddy Hawthorne, had the tour; beautiful apartment available, and had moved in three days before Easter.

    And it was a good decision … life is so much better, to live alone and keep a house would have been hard, difficult for me and worrisome for my family.

    And Eddy Hawthorne Ridge is a really good place to be … all the employees are great, the place is so well kept, and meals are excellent. Can’t say I am totally enjoying Old Age but it happens, and I am so glad I’m here.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • We love where we live!
    5 / 5 stars

    We love where we live for a lot of reasons. It is in the center of our town of East Greenbush, so we’re near our friends, shopping places, our church, community library and the Y. Our apartment is in a building where we have many friends, a dining room within 250 feet, our Postal Service station within 200 feet, we have people and groups in to provide entertainment, we take lots of trips to go places or to dine out, lounge, cafe, covered patio, gazebo, 24-hour security, well-kept grounds, plenty of parking and our cars are cleaned off promptly when it snows. Our lounge, cafe (separate from dining room), covered patio, gazebo and social rooms provide us with areas to mingle and socialize with our neighbors. Our fellow residents are like family and friends. That’s why we are very happy here at Eddy Hawthorne Ridge senior living community at 30 Community Way in East Greenbush!

    Submitted to the Albany Times Union blog, “What the Capital Region is talking about RIGHT NOW” in response to the question: Why is your neighborhood the coolest in the Capital Region?

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Pretty place in every season!
    5 / 5 stars

    Thank you for making Beverwyck such a pretty place in every season! The flower beds and shrubs – all of the plantings combine to make the area so pretty.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Great attention to detail
    5 / 5 stars

    Last night, our family gathered for our Passover Seder. This is the third year we have celebrated at Beverwyck, and even though each year our numbers grow as our family grows, Mark, Len and the staff take it in stride. Our mother beams with pride, knowing she can have her family with her as she hosts the Passover Seder.

    We appreciate the attention to detail for our ritual and for the conscientious preparation and service of the meal itself. Len and the wait staff couldn’t do enough to make this evening meaningful and enjoyable.

    While they may have made it look easy, my sister and I know otherwise, and are greatly appreciative.

    Please extend to all those involved …

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Everything done expeditiously and with care
    5 / 5 stars

    Today, Frank and I experienced our first annual cleaning. What a joy!

    Mary, Dawn and Rigo worked very well together as a team. They took time to answer my questions and proceeded on with their impeccable cleaning.

    We thank you for having staff like these three. During this past year, we have had several of your staff do repairs or “fix-ups”, as well as cleaning. Everything has been done expeditiously and with care. We see Bernie for the most part for these “fix-ups” and he is excellent, as well as neat and tidy about his work.

    Thank you ever so much for your great crew. They are greatly appreciated.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Felt at home when I first entered the Beechwood lobby
    5 / 5 stars

    My grandfather’s sister lived at the Eddy, then my father, and now it is my turn. I felt at home when I first entered the Beechwood lobby.  Ten years later, I am still delighted to be here.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Very responsive staff
    5 / 5 stars

    My wife Janice and I felt very content that we have found Beechwood. The entire staff is very responsive to any problems that arise and are to be applauded for their efforts. The new “exercise room” is conducive to keeping us in shape and we are glad for the interesting trips that are offered to us.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Soundproof and fireproof buildings near medical care
    5 / 5 stars

    Important considerations in moving to Beechwood with my wife were essentially a soundproof and fireproof building, near medical care.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • More than meets the expectations
    5 / 5 stars

    The Beechwood facilities, staff and residents are first class.  Each one is looking out to fulfill the needs, and sometimes even the wants and desires of each, to the benefit of all. Fully organized to provide a gracious and concerned lifestyle, it more than meets the expectations of all concerned, in a close and friendly setting. Friends are aplenty with activities to fit your abilities limited only by your imagination.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • Friendly atmosphere and smaller community
    5 / 5 stars

    I choose to live at Beechwood because I love the friendly atmosphere of the smaller community.  Another important feature is the upbeat, cheerful attitude of the staff.  They make life pleasant and this fosters the many friendships that develop here.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities
  • A natural choice for us
    5 / 5 stars

    Beechwood was a natural choice for us when we decided to move here six years ago.  Since coming to Troy over 50 years ago, we’ve lived nearby, and we wanted to stay in this area.   Having friends already here certainly was another factor contributing to our decision.  We made our move at an earlier age than many, but with no children and with our few family members all in Canada, having a “support system” was most important to us, as was the continuum of care offered on our campus.  We certainly have found our “support system” – and friendship – at Beechwood.   We say that the “Beechwood family” and the Beechwood staff are simply the best.  Hopefully our early move will mean that we’ll have a number of years to enjoy all that Beechwood has to offer.

    04/11/2016
    Eddy Senior Living Communities